My little girl

IMG_4195

This is my little girl, Brooke. She is a toddler now, and is so curious and inquisitive about everything. She’s also very loving. This week, I was sitting down, face in my hands crying with frustration over our latest parenting challenges. Brooke came over and touched my face, wiping away my tears. She looked very concerned, and I hugged and told her that everything will be ok. I thought to myself, “My goodness, we have an precious daughter of God in our home.” How thankful we are to have her.

Much reflection comes to my mind as this year comes to a close. When rough days come, I can’t help but think of the good things. What are my blessings? What gifts do we have? As I count them slowly, and look around to find the joy, it helps the rough patches become smooth. Thankful for water to drink, for a fireplace to have fun with, and for blankets and a warm bed. I have clothes for my kids, and beds for them. We have the scriptures to read and constantly learn from. I have the greatest and sweetest husband ever. I’m forever blessed by kind friends that I try to keep up with on FB, email and phone. They help me to see things I cannot.

I now this year will be a new year of adventures. I hope that I can continue to remember to slow down, and try to savor each day. To understand how to love my kids better, and make those days sweeter. Sometimes it’s so hard, argh!! Yet, giving up would be the worst, and each day on this earth is a gift.

Check out this great post about the new year on the Power of Moms Blog. Just read it now, and it’s a good reminder.

What are your goals for the new year?

One thought on “My little girl

Post a comment

