Memorizing scriptures

IMG_3278[1]

My new goal, well, a goal that I keep coming back to; to memorize scriptures. We live in this age of smart phones, where we have so much information at our finger tips. Richard G. Scott gave a fabulous church talk about the power of scriptures. Love his quote:

“Great power can come from memorizing scriptures. To memorize a scripture is to forge a new friendship. It is like discovering a new individual who can help in time of need, give inspiration and comfort, and be a source of motivation for needed change.”

Beautiful, huh?

I’m trying to use my phone for good, and work on memorizing more scriptures. Smart phones can be great tools or horrible time wasters. I love the new LDS gospel library app. I made a notebook titles ‘Scriptures to memorize’. I’ve added a handful of verses to work on. Then, I have them in my brain, ready to recite anytime, especially when the rough moments hit.

The verse above was mentioned at Girls Camp last week. I think it’s beautiful. What is your favorite verse? Let me know, as I’ll most likely fall in love with it, and add it to my notebook. Thanks:)

One thought on “Memorizing scriptures

  1. I also love this talk and have been working on this as well. I don’t know if you familiar with the scripture mastery app for seminary. It is awesome because it facilitates memorization. And there is certainly a power in this simple thing. A couple of my favorites are Ether 12:6 and Helaman 5:12.

Post a comment

