DIY Sunblock and other holistic madness

IMG_3215[1]I never realized that I had become a hippie until a friend told me. I then realized, ‘Oh, yea. I guess I am.’. In the past year, I’ve been having so much fun learning about holistic methods, and home made skin products. I learned about parabens, sythentic chemicals, and a load of other junk that are present in most of our skin products.

Again, I used my label and ingredient reading, now on skin stuff instead of food.’Fragrance’ is a fun one. When something has the word ‘Fragrance’ in the ingredient list of lotion, shampoo, etc, it’s basically code for as many chemicals as they want to add, all under that term. As long as the word Fragrance is on there, the makers don’t have to list the chemicals they used. Holy crap. Parabens are hormone disruptors, and many other chemicals are toxic to the skin and body. Learning about this stuff intrigued me, and then I began making my own stuff, and I fell in love.

Things I’ve learned to make so far:

  • Sunblock
  • Deodorant
  • Diaper cream
  • Hand soap
  • Body wash
  • Toner
  • Face wash
  • Face scrub
  • Lotion/body cream
  • Hard lotion bars

Everything smells great, and everything works wonderful. In the past, I’ve always been a Bath and Body works junkie. I can’t live with out lotion. My awful dry skin. I remember looking for lotions with shea butter in the label, and paying extra for them. They did a decent job, but never a long lasting job for me.

I learned how to make ‘Rosemary’s Perfect Cream’, and I feel like Cleopatra every time I use it. No lotion or cream I have ever bought from a store has ever done a better job than this cream. Ever. Every time I put it on my skin and face, it soaks right in, and moisturizes like crazy! It works, because it’s not filled with fillers and extra toxic crap. It’s just either shea butter or cocoa butter (depending on which way I make it), aloe vera gel, almond oil, and some peppermint essential oil. It’s stinking fabulous.

The one thing we have been going through a ton this year is the sunblock. This sunblock recipe comes from Renee Harris of Hard Lotion. 

I love her recipes because they only use about 3-4 ingredients, and they have worked wonderfully on her family. This sunblock is fabulous, non toxic, water proof, and works! I did a photo shoot in the desert, and it was in the hot afternoon. I put the sunblock to the test, and I did not burn. Love this stuff!

IMG_3217[1]

It’s very simple to make. Melt your beeswax, coconut oil, and shea butter together. Add the Zinc Oxide at the end, and blend it with a stick blender. It smells heavenly, too.

I got my Zinc Oxide from Amazon.

Beeswax from Herbally Grounded. You can also get these from Amazon or Mountain Rose Herbs.

Shea butter from thesage.com

Coconut Oil from Costco.

So, I’m a city hippie with country roots from Idaho, living in a wonderful world of real working lotion, good smelling sunblock, and comforting face washes. It’s heaven, and I love sharing what I’ve learned. Ask me anything:)

One thought on “DIY Sunblock and other holistic madness

  1. Hmm, not that I’m hugely into chemical-free products, but I am curious about the recipes. Mostly just because I like to know how to make things–it gives me a sense of empowerment/accomplishment. I’ve never heard of hard lotion bars. Is it kind of like a balm?

Post a comment

